Pat’s pour more misery on Harps

Finn Harps 0-2 St. Patrick’s Athletic

St. Patrick’s Athletic inflicted another defeat on Finn Harps on Easter Bank Holiday Monday and so the battle continues to secure a first win of the season. Ollie Horgan’s men trailed by a goal at the break after Conor Clifford put the visitors ahead in the 36th minute. Mikey Drennan’s penalty sealed the three points for the visitors on 70 minutes. The results means Harps remain eight points adrift at the bottom of the table having played 13 Premier Division matches, one more than the rest of the top flight teams apart from Shamrock Rovers.

Match Sponsor Ballybofey and Stranorlar Credit Union

Harry Kenny’s men got the opening goal on 36 minutes when the unmarked Clifford shot past Peter Burke from the edge of the penalty area. Clifford had come very close to scoring earlier with an effort that came off an upright just before the half-hour mark. Harps best scoring attempt fell to Caolan McAleer with a shot that grazed the St Pat’s crossbar.

Horgan’s outfit had drawn with the same opposition at Richmond Park in February but hopes of even matching that result were ebbing away as the in-form Drennan threatened with a 61st minute free-kick that forced Peter Burke into a decent save.

Drennan did double the visitors advantage on 70 minutes from the penalty spot after referee Robert Rogers adjudged that Keith Cowan had fouled Gary Shaw. Harps assistant manager Paul Hegarty was subsequently banished to the Stand for his protests regarding the decision to award the spot-kick. Harps kept plugging away but Pat’s keeper Brendan Clarke didn’t have a save of note to make, although Tony McNamee and John Kavanagh both had strikes that went over the crossbar.

Team photo above courtesy of Stephen Doherty

Finn Harps - Peter Burke; John Kavanagh, Keith Cowan, Sam Todd, Mark Russell; Caolan McAleer, Mark Coyle (Jacob Borg 84 mins),  Tony McNamee, Raffaele Cretaro (Michael Gallagher 79 mins); Nathan Boyle (Mikey Place 60 mins); Sean Boyd. Not used: Jamie Bell (Gk), Daniel O’Reilly, Stephen Doherty, Niall Logue

St Patrick’s Athletic - Brendan Clarke; Simon Madden, Kevin Toner, Lee Desmond, Ciaran Kelly, Ian Bermingham, Rhys McCabe, Chris Forrester (Cian Coleman 80 mins), Conor Clifford, Gary Shaw (Dean Clarke 89 mins), Mikey Drennan.

Ref: Robert Rogers

all the news