10-men Harps lose at the RSC

Waterford FC 4-0 Finn Harps

The 27th minute dismissal of Mark Coyle for a second yellow card offence gave hosts Waterford FC a huge advantage at the RSC on Friday night and the hosts capitalised in some style to win comfortably against Finn Harps. It was the seventh defeat of the season for Ollie Horgan’s side who remain bottom of the Premier Division table with UCD two points above them.

The visitors had an encouraging enough start to the game. First a Caolan McAleer volley was deflected wide and then a Coyle pass gave big central defender Niall Logue the opportunity to shoot, forcing Matthew Connor into a decent save. From a Harps perspective the big turning point came in the 27th minute when midfielder Coyle was given a second yellow by referee Graham Kelly. As the half progressed the hosts began to threaten more in attack with Ciaran Gallagher diverting a Rory Feely header around the upright before the breakthrough came in the 37th minute when Zack Elbouzedi's cross was nodded home by in-form striker Aaron Drinan.

After the break a Daniel O'Reilly free for Harps failed to trouble keeper Connor. Gallagher made a good save with his to deny JJ Lunney before the home side scored twice to seal victory. It was Drinan with his second goal that made it 2-0 and then Shane Duggan’s clever lob left the Harps keeper stranded for the third goal. The visitors, with 10 men never looked like scoring at any stage in the second half. Sub Dean Walsh got the fourth from a cross provided by another second half replacement Izzy Akinade.

Waterford Utd - Matthew Connor, Rory Feely, Damien Delaney, Kevin Lynch (Dean Walsh 83), Shane Duggan, Maxim Kouogun, Karolis Chvedukas (Bastien Hery 69), JJ Lunney, Aaron Drinan, Scott Twine, Zack Elbouzedi (Izzy Akinade 76).

Finn Harps - Ciaran Gallagher, Colm Deasy, Daniel O’Reilly, Keith Cowan, Niall Logue, Sam Todd, John Kavanagh (Mark Russell 74), Caolan McAleer, Nathan Boyle (Jacob Borg 38), Raf Cretaro (Tony McNamee 79), Mark Coyle. Not used: Peter Burke (Gk), Michael Gallagher, Liam Walsh, Mikey Place.

all the news